St. Kitts-Nevis Comprehensive Disaster Management (CDM) Youth Ambassadors

During a simple but impressive ceremony, thirty (30) young adults comprising of 12 males and 18
females from St. Kitts and Nevis, were inducted into the St. Kitts-Nevis Comprehensive Disaster
Management Youth Ambassadors Group, Wednesday 8 th November, 2017, 10:15 a.m. at the NEMA
Headquarters, Lime Kiln, St. Kitts. During remarks to launch the group, Mr. Osmond Petty,
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of National Security, complimented the young people on their decision
to work closely with the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) and the Nevis Disaster
Management Department (NDMD). He also encouraged them to use the group to reach other young
people, from becoming involved in illegal activities. To signal the Induction and official Launch of
SKN CDM Youth Ambassadors, Mr. Petty pinned a Button displaying the group’s name, Logo and
Launch month, on the first member. The process continued with each member receiving a Button
from a different individual, following which they recited the Creed.
During welcome remarks, National Disaster Coordinator, Mr. Carl Herbert, applauded the group on
its formation and also brought greetings from Mr. Ronald Jackson, Executive Director at the CDEMA
Coordination Unit, who fully endorsed the group and its accomplishments to date. The group has
elected an Executive, created its Logo, Creed and also its Motto, “Youth Making a Difference.”
The group was initiated after Mrs. Claricia Langley-Stevens, Deputy National Disaster Coordinator,
returned from the 2015 Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency (CDEMA)
Comprehensive Disaster Management (CDM) Conference in the Bahamas, when the call was made
for countries to directly engage the youth in Disaster Management. Since then, the group has been
meeting at the NEMA Headquarters, under her guidance. Mrs. Langley-Stevens applauded the
group and expressed complete satisfaction that to date, St. Kitts-Nevis is the first of and only
one of the eighteen (18) CDEMA members states to launch such a group. She further indicted
that an Advisory Council has been established comprising of Ms. Alicia Collins, Community
Development Officer, Superintendent of Police, Lyndon David, Mr. Kurt Caines, Representative
Department of Youth and Mr. Dillon Webbe, former SKN UNESCO Youth Representative and
Liaison Officers, Mr. Rohan Isles, Junior Communications Officer (NDMD) and Ms. Bereece
Williams, Districts Coordinator (NEMA) and Mr. Lejon James, Technician (NEMA) are in place to
guide and assist the group going forward.
In completing the Overview of the group, President, Ms. Shajunee Gumbs expressed thanks to the
NEMA and NDMD for the support and guidance provided, also to her fellow members including the
Executive body, and indicated that the group will undertake its tasks seriously and with vigour. The
group’s activities will be
undertaken on 4 pillars namely: Training, Education & Awareness, Community Resilience and Social
Interaction. The other Executive members are Ms. Tawanna Collins, Vice President, Ms. Densa
Tota, Secretary, Ms. Nadia Francis, Assistant Secretary, Mr. Terrance Francis, Treasurer and Mr.
Howard Liburd, Public Relations Officer. Also participating in the event were Mr. Lejon James,
Technician (NEMA), Mr. Howard Liburd, CDM Youth Ambassador, Cotton Thomas Comprehensive
School Drummers, Anjolique Dance Company and Mia Romney, visually impaired Student, Cotton Thomas
Comprehensive School. The ceremony was chaired by Mr. Rohan Isles, Junior Communications Officer

From Danger to Safety

(NDMD) and Ms. Tamara Smithen, CDM Youth Ambassador gave the Vote of Thanks.

Carl Herbert
National Disaster Coordinator
9 th November, 2017